349 days|Some Kind of Monster

I last wrote a blog post 349 days ago (June 30th, 2016). Today’s date is June 14th, 2017. I started writing stuff on this site as a way to get express things; as a way to get things off my chest. It helped, a lot. And it was pretty fun! The whole website creation process (even on the free version) was fun to learn about! Sitting here at my desk in Green, Bay and through some conversation with friends, I’ve decided that I want to start this thing back up again, to help keep my mind at bay.

We all have that darkness inside. That part of us that we don’t like to think about or let out often. We tuck it back deep inside and hope it never surfaces to show it’s fangs. But when it sneaks out into the world it causes chaos and destruction. It changes who we are as people. It takes control of us, commanding us as puppets. Sometimes it feels like you can’t escape or let it go. And the worst part is that it usually shows itself in times of extreme pain or sadness. How do we deal with it? How do we contain it? I don’t have the answer but I hope to get closer to finding it, and maybe writing more posts will help with that. Plus, I enjoy writing. Maybe it’ll help others too.

 

“This is the cloud that swallows trust
This is the black that uncolors us
This is the face that you hide from
This is the mask that comes undone

This monster lives”

 — James Hetfield

Leave a Reply

