What’s Goin’ On?

So I haven’t posted anything in a while. I’m so used to posting every few days that taking a week and a half off felt like a month. The past few weeks have been incredibly busy for me, with midterms and other projects I’ve been working on, so I haven’t had a whole lot of time to write on the blog. And to be honest, I don’t really have anything to talk about now either. Usually I write whenever an idea of thought comes into my head. When I write I’m creating what I want to say as I go. What’s been happening recently is I’ll go to write, I won’t be able to think of anything with actual substance or value to say, and I’ll quit. I’ll delete what I have and go do something else. I don’t really have much to say, so I think I’ll talk about what I’ve been up to recently.

Spring break started for me on Saturday. Myself and my roommate traveled back from MTU with some other students to Fenton on Saturday to spend break at home with our families. For people that aren’t familiar with Michigan, MTU (Michigan Technological University) is located at the top of the Michigan’s upper peninsula, in a town called Houghton. I’m originally from a town called Fenton in the mid-Michigan area. It’s about an 8-9 hour drive for me to drive from Fenton to Tech. So coming home for breaks and other things is a bit more of a hassle for me than most college students. I will be home for break until Saturday March 12th, and will travel back to school on the 13th.

I have been learning to play the french horn this semester. I also plan to play with Fenton’s Community Orchestra in the spring. The horn is tons of fun, and it’s also been a lot of work for me. To speak in non-musical terms, I’ve had to adjust the way my mouth sits on the horn mouthpiece, compared to the way it does on a trumpet mouthpiece. I’ve been doing a lot of work on my breathing and stamina with my incredibly talented instructor, Erin. It started off slow in the beginning, but things are starting to progress nicely, and I am very pleased with my progress.

As always, I’ve been working hard at school. I’m slowly starting to realize the amount of work and time I’m going to spend around the sound department in my time at tech. It’s awesome though, for a few reasons. The entire department is incredibly friendly and nice. It’s like they’re family. I feel like part of a big family with the theatre department at tech. Everyone, including the professors, are very friendly and nice, and have welcomed me and the other freshman with open arms. I feel at home at Michigan Tech. Coming to a school that’s so far away from home, and being able to be welcomed so nicely here has been truly amazing. It definitely has made the transition a million times easier. I’m going to love the next 4 years.

Hm. What else has been going on? Dorm food sucks. I’ve spent way too much money on food and other miscellaneous items I didn’t need. I started taking naps to accommodate staying up past 1am each night. I’ve stayed true to running, I try to run at least 3 times a week. Sleep and free time have become more and more of something I don’t have enough of. I can’t stop listening to the new Dream Theater album. It’s that good. The Walking Dead has been as good as ever. Each week I fall more and more in love with that show. It’s so freaking good I swear. I couldn’t stop watching that show even if I tried. Tomorrow I’m going to register to vote. Yes I know, I waited a while to do so. It’s kind of hard when I’ve been 600 miles away for the past 6 months. Even though I won’t be able to vote in Michigan’s primaries on Tuesday, I’ll be able to in November, which is the bigger deal. I think that’s all I’ve got.

Maybe I’ll do this every week or so. Give a little status update.

Good to be home for a bit,

~Michael

Leave a Reply

