The Band Project

So, long story short, I auditioned for a band to play guitar, got accepted, decided I wanted to play drums instead, and now am recording an album with the band on drums. It’s funny how things happen.

We are in the process of recording a 12-track LP right now. This is the first time I’ve ever recorded in a studio, with a full band, before. It’s awesome. Levi and Ethan have tons of great songs written, and I’m really honored to be able to play drums on this record with them. Let me give a little back story about how this came about, haha.

So back in the first month or so of school, I was hanging out in my dorm room, probably doing homework or something, and this guy and girl come up too ur room asking myself and my roommate if either of us would like to audition to play guitar in their band. We both agreed, and learned some songs they wanted us to play for the audition. I’m not nearly as competent on the guitar as I am on drums, but I figured it would be a cool experience. So I auditioned, got the part, and started practicing with everyone. As we started practicing, I began to realize that I enjoyed playing guitar as a leisure activity, in my room when I’m bored or something, not in a band. I wasn’t feeling the connection with everyone else while on guitar. So, I brought it up to everyone, and offered to switch to drums. They loved the idea, and it’s led to us becoming much more tight as a band. I’m at a happy place when I get back behind the kit and jam with others, it’s awesome.

As wrote this yesterday, we were currently in the 2nd guitar tracking session. Levi and Ethan have gotten through almost 3 songs thus far. After guitars are done, we’ll move to drums. That will definitely be a new experience for me. But a fun one as well. I’m really excited to see this record come together, and show it to people. Exciting things are happening! 🙂

Thanks for reading, I really do appreciate it 🙂

~Michael

Leave a Reply

